Sunday, May 26, 2024

Where art meets ecology

The Estuary Art and Ecology Awards takes centre stage at Uxbridge Arts and Culture with an open invitation to all artists to research and respond to the Ta_maki Estuary with a creative mindset that is unique and sustainable.

Now in its 18th year, the Estuary Art and Ecology Awards are the only contemporary art prize in New Zealand with ecology at its core. The awards invite contemporary artists to produce new works of art with an ecological focus around the Tāmaki Estuary and its extensive tributaries.

Uxbridge director Paul Brobbel is looking forward to strong interest from artists as the awards approaches their 20th anniversary.

“We’re pleased with the number of enquiries from artists eager to contribute to this year’s edition,” he says. “I’m mindful that we’re close to celebrating 20 years of the Estuary Awards, so its place in the Auckland art scene is well established.”

The 18th edition of the Estuary Art and Ecology Awards follows the same format as previous awards but with a fresh emphasis on public programming that will accompany the exhibition. Brobbel is excited about expanding its reach.

“We’re taking the next couple of years to build momentum towards celebrating 20 years of the Estuary Awards in 2026 and ensuring we are going into a new decade with new ambitions and energies”.

Generously supported by Howick Local Board, the Rice Family Partnership, Gordon Harris Art Supplies, and the Tāmaki Estuary Environmental Forum (TEEF), the Estuary Awards includes a prize pool of over $9000.

Judging the Estuary Awards is conservationist and ecologist Annette Lees, author of numerous acclaimed non-fiction books exploring our relationship with the natural world including Swim and After Dark.

Artists can submit entries between April 1 and May 31 through the Uxbridge website. Finalists will be notified by June 14 and their work will be displayed in the Malcolm Smith Gallery at Uxbridge from July 6 to August 31.

Winners will be announced at the opening function on July 6 with the People’s Choice Award announced on September 6.


Latest Articles

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -